Not sure why it  is that mommies today think we can have it all. Perhaps we’re completely unaware, but there really are only 24 hours in a day. Regardless, we seem to have convinced ourselves that running on empty is OK, as long as we can get at least 90% of the things on our list done. I can’t seem to remember a time that I wasn’t running around, cleaning up after one child or another, or trying to catch up with my chore list, or my personal to do list, or desperately hoping for something pithy to say in my blog (you see where I’m going with this now, don’t you?).

It’s a challenge a lot of modern mommies face: trying to have a career, a social life, a job, and doing a good job raising your kids (which means social events for them, and pop-psych books for you). The truth is: it’s hard. And it’s tiring.

I recently decided to go back to school and it’s been so long since I’ve read a book without pictures, it took me twice as long to read 30 pages of theory last night than I thought possible. And frankly – half way through, I had to “rest my eyes” like Grandma used to do. Oy, what has become of me? Middle aged, on the couch half asleep while my partner watches some geek-fest physics program about bending light (he can do this as I’m distracted by school work). I like my visual crack fluffy, you see. But theory – I’ll take that on paper. At least on my lap, while I rest my eyes.

